Phone answering service cost, line by line
The headline price on your quote is one of five numbers, and the other four are where your surprises come from. Read any quote in this order and it stops being confusing: the base fee, what's included, how they round, what setup costs you, and what you pay past the allowance.
AnswerConnect's own page shows you all five at once, which makes it worth reading even if you never buy from them. Their 200-minute plan is $350 plus a $49.99 setup fee, with $2.50 for each extra minute, every interaction rounded up and billed in whole-minute increments, and your first 30 interactions under 30 seconds free each cycle. That last line is unusually generous and unusually specific, and you won't find many others stating one.
Ruby gives you the first two of the five and tells you there's no setup fee. What you'd pay past your allowance isn't on their page, so you can't finish the sum.
The five numbers, by vendor
| Vendor | Base | Included | Rounding | Setup | Overage |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| AnswerConnect | $350 | 200 min | Up to the whole minute | $49.99 | $2.50/min |
| PATLive | $99 | 50 min | Not stated on the page | Not listed | $2.29/min |
| Posh | $65 | 0 min | Not stated on the page | Not listed | $2.30/min |
| Ruby | $250 | 50 min | Not stated on the page | None charged | Not published |
| GreetKeeper | $49 | 200 calls | Not applicable, we count calls | None | $0.45/call |
Read on each vendor's own pricing page, September 2026. "Not stated" means the page is silent, which is a question to ask rather than an accusation.
Where each of the five bites
- The base fee bites when it buys nothing. Posh's $65 includes no minutes, so the base is a subscription rather than an allowance.
- Included minutes bite when they're smaller than they sound. Fifty minutes is about seventeen three-minute conversations.
- Rounding bites on short calls. Twenty forty-second calls is about fourteen minutes of talking and twenty minutes of billing.
- Setup bites once, but it's real: $49.99 on two of AnswerConnect's three plans and nothing on the third.
- The overage bites hardest and most often, which is why four of the vendors in this market leave it off the page entirely.
Worked example
A veterinary clinic takes 190 calls a month. Half are short, like confirming an appointment or checking opening hours, and half run four minutes about a sick animal. That's roughly 460 minutes with 95 short calls.
AnswerConnect
460 minutes needs the $575 plan covering 400, then 60 at $1.85. Rounding adds roughly 45 seconds across the short calls, but the first 30 interactions under 30 seconds are free. Call it $686 plus $49.99 setup in month one.
PATLive
460 minutes fits the $759 plan's 500. $759.
Posh Lavish
$975 for 500 minutes. $975.
GreetKeeper
190 answered calls, inside Starter's 200. $49, with no rounding rule to reason about.
Their short calls are the interesting part. On a rounded per-minute plan you pay roughly 40 percent more than you spend talking, and AnswerConnect's free-under-30-seconds allowance is the only published mechanism we found that pushes back on it. If a lot of your calls are brief, ask every vendor how they round.
Where our own price sits
Three of our five numbers are zero or not applicable. There's no setup fee, no rounding rule because we count answered calls, and no separate base fee on top of the plan. That leaves $49, $149 or $349, and $0.45, $0.35 or $0.25.
Our pricing page also says what counts as a call: a very short call doesn't, a robocall or a call the assistant screens out doesn't, and the same customer calling twice counts twice.
| Plan | Monthly | Calls included | After that |
|---|---|---|---|
| StarterFor a single location taking calls one line at a time. | $49 | 200 | $0.45 per call |
| ProfessionalBooking, routing and transfers included, not an add-on. | $149 | 750 | $0.35 per call |
| ScaleFor busy phones and longer opening hours. | $349 | 2,000 | $0.25 per call |
Before you act on any of this
Every competitor figure on this page was read on that vendor's own pricing page in September 2026. Prices change. Check before you buy.
Questions people ask
Which of the five numbers matters most?
The overage rate, because it's the one that turns your predictable month into an unpredictable one. It's also the one most often missing, so if you're shopping at Ruby, Rosie, Abby Connect or Slang.ai you'll have to ask for it.
Do all services round calls up to the minute?
AnswerConnect tells you it does, in whole-minute increments, and offsets it by giving you 30 free interactions under 30 seconds each cycle. Most other pages say nothing about rounding, so put it in writing when you ask.
Is a setup fee negotiable?
Sometimes, and it's the easiest thing for you to ask about. AnswerConnect's own page charges $49.99 on two plans and nothing on the middle one, which suggests onboarding you doesn't cost them a fixed amount.
How do I compare a per-minute quote with a per-call one?
Convert both to your cost per conversation. Divide the per-minute quote's total by your call count and set it beside the per-call rate. Your three-minute calls at $1.99 a minute come to $5.97 each; ours cost you $0.45 past the allowance.
Get all five numbers in writing
Base, included, rounding, setup, overage. A vendor who'll give you all five is telling you something about the other four.