Ruby vs Nexa

Ruby and Nexa both staff live virtual receptionists around the clock and both sell minute plans. Ruby prints its prices: $250 a month for 50 minutes, $395 for 100, $720 for 200 and $1,725 for 500. Nexa lists Nexa 100, Nexa 300 and Nexa 500 by voice minutes, and asks you to call sales for the price.

Past the price, the plans are built differently. Ruby says the only difference between its plans is the minute count, so every tier gets the same features. Nexa adds features as you climb: sales calls and client intake from Nexa 300, and CRM integration on Nexa 500.

Ruby suits a business that wants a printed monthly figure and one feature set at every size. Nexa suits a business that wants intake or outbound sales from its receptionists and is happy to take a quote. Both plan pages were read in September 2026.

Published pricing, side by side

What each vendor prints on its own site. The billing unit decides more of the final bill than the headline price does.

RubyNexa
Billing unitPer minutePer minute
Entry plan$250/mo for 50 minutesNot published. Their plans page lists Nexa 100, Nexa 300 and Nexa 500 by included voice minutes with no dollar figures
Higher tiersBasic $395 (100 min), Standard $720 (200 min), Professional $1,725 (500 min)Nexa 100, Nexa 300 and Nexa 500, by voice minutes; no prices published at any tier
Overage rateNot published on their pricing pageNot published, because no pricing at all is published

Read on each vendor's own website in September 2026. Prices move, so check before you buy.

What decides it

The dimensions that change the bill or the service, each as a fact read on the vendor's own site.

RubyNexa
Plans50, 100, 200 and 500 minutes100, 300 and 500 voice minutes
Prices on the websiteYes, $250 to $1,725 a monthNo; quotes by phone
Features by tierThe same on every plan; only minutes changeIntake and sales from Nexa 300; CRM integration on Nexa 500
Rate past the planNot printedExtra minutes at the base rate, rate not printed
What counts as a minuteNot stated on the pricing pageTalk time, after-call follow-up, email and post-call scheduling
Setup feeNone, stated on the pricing pageNot stated on the plans page
Hours24/7, including holidays24/7/365

Ruby: ruby.com/pricing. Nexa: nexa.com/plans. Both read September 2026.

What each one counts as a minute

Nexa's plans page spells out what uses your minutes: talk time, after-call follow-up, email services and scheduling done after the call. So a two-minute call that needs a follow-up email can use more than two minutes.

Ruby's pricing page doesn't say how it counts. Its help site was returning a 403 error in September 2026, so the rule can't be read there either. Ask Ruby in writing whether after-call work and short calls count, and how it rounds.

That one answer can move your bill by a tier. If your calls often end with a message to send or a slot to confirm, the counting rule matters more than the plan price.

An insurance agency sized on both

Say you run an insurance agency taking 180 calls a month. Most are policy questions that last about two and a half minutes, and a third end with an email to the client. That's around 450 minutes of talk, before any follow-up.

On Ruby, 450 minutes is past the 200-minute plan at $720 and inside the 500-minute plan at $1,725. You can budget that number from the page.

On Nexa, the same month points at Nexa 500, which also brings CRM integration. Its price comes from the sales call, and the emails would count toward the 500 minutes too.

Where each one stands out

Ruby states in plain words that activation, onboarding, setup and customization carry no fee. It also lists robocall filtering and after-hours, weekend and holiday coverage on every plan.

Nexa includes custom scripting, appointment scheduling, lead qualification and a client portal with analytics on every plan. For an agency that wants intake calls handled by script, Nexa 300 and up adds client and patient intake.

The same agency, billed per call

Disclosure: GreetKeeper is our product, and this is its only section on the page. It answers with an AI rather than a staffed desk, and it counts answered calls instead of minutes. Starter is $49 a month for 200 calls, then $0.45 a call. Professional is $149 for 750 at $0.35, and Scale is $349 for 2,000 at $0.25.

The 180-call agency month fits inside Starter, however long each policy question runs. Every call arrives as a transcript and a short summary, and a signed webhook can pass the caller's details and your intake answers to the system your team works in.

GreetKeeper books callbacks into Google Calendar or Outlook, and there's no setup fee on any plan. Each plan starts with a 14-day free trial, every feature on and no card.

PlanMonthlyCalls includedAfter that
StarterFor a single location taking calls one line at a time.$49200$0.45 per call
ProfessionalBooking, routing and transfers included, not an add-on.$149750$0.35 per call
ScaleFor busy phones and longer opening hours.$3492,000$0.25 per call

Questions people ask about this comparison

How much does Nexa cost?

Nexa doesn't print prices. Its plans page lists Nexa 100, Nexa 300 and Nexa 500 by voice minutes and gives a sales number for quotes, read September 2026. Extra minutes are charged at your plan's base rate.

Is Ruby more expensive than Nexa?

Only Ruby prints a price, so there's no public figure to set against it. Ruby's plans run from $250 for 50 minutes to $1,725 for 500. Ask Nexa to quote the same minute count, and ask both what counts as a minute.

Which Nexa plan includes CRM integration?

Nexa 500. Its plans page lists CRM integration on Nexa 500 only, with client intake and outbound sales from Nexa 300 up (September 2026).

Does Ruby charge a setup fee?

No. Ruby's pricing page says there are no additional or hidden fees for activation, onboarding, setup or customization, read September 2026.

See a price before a sales call

Every GreetKeeper plan and overage rate is on the pricing page. Try one free for 14 days.