Ruby vs AnswerConnect
Ruby and AnswerConnect both staff human receptionists, and both sell you their time by the minute. What separates them is what each one prints. Ruby publishes four plans, from $250 a month for 50 minutes up to $1,725 for 500, and states that activation, onboarding and setup carry no fee. AnswerConnect publishes no plan price at all: its plans page shows no figure, and pricing arrives by quote form.
So the decision turns on two questions. How much do you want to know before a sales call, and what shape are your calls? Ruby tells you the plan price and keeps the overage rate off the page. AnswerConnect tells you the rounding rule, the free short-call allowance and how overage is charged, and keeps the price itself for the call.
Ruby suits a business that wants a printed monthly figure and small minute bundles it can move between. AnswerConnect suits a business whose phone rings often and briefly, because its first 30 calls under 30 seconds each cycle cost nothing, and one that's willing to take a quote before it sees a number. Both figures and rules were read on the vendors' own sites in September 2026.
Published pricing, side by side
What each vendor prints on its own site. The billing unit decides more of the final bill than the headline price does.
| Ruby | AnswerConnect | |
|---|---|---|
| Billing unit | Per minute | Per minute |
| Entry plan | $250/mo for 50 minutes | Not published on its website |
| Higher tiers | Basic $395 (100 min), Standard $720 (200 min), Professional $1,725 (500 min) | Not published on its website |
| Overage rate | Not published on their pricing page | Not published |
Read on each vendor's own website in September 2026. Prices move, so check before you buy.
What decides it
The dimensions that change the bill or the service, each as a fact read on the vendor's own site.
| Ruby | AnswerConnect | |
|---|---|---|
| Prices on the website | Yes: four plans, $250 to $1,725 a month | No: the plans page prints no figure; pricing comes by quote form |
| Overage rate | Not printed on the pricing page | Charged at your plan's rate; the rate itself isn't printed |
| Calls under 30 seconds | Not stated on the pricing page | First 30 each billing cycle are free, wrong numbers and hang-ups included |
| Rounding | Not stated on the pricing page | Calls over 30 seconds bill by the whole minute, rounded up |
| Setup fee | None, stated on the pricing page | Charged, and sometimes waived as a credit on the invoice |
| Unused minutes | Not stated on the pricing page | Don't roll over; the allowance resets each cycle |
| Robocalls | Robocall filtering listed on every plan | Spam and no-response calls count toward the 30 free short calls |
| Hours | 24/7, including after-hours, weekends and holidays | 24/7, described as human-led answering |
Ruby: ruby.com/pricing. AnswerConnect: answerconnect.com/plans and its billing help centre. Both read September 2026. A cell that says "not stated" means the vendor's page carries no line on it.
What Ruby prints, and the one number it leaves off
Ruby's pricing page gives you four receptionist plans: $250 for 50 minutes, $395 for 100, $720 for 200 and $1,725 for 500. Its own wording is that the only difference between the plans is the number of receptionist minutes, so every tier gets the same team and the same feature list.
That list, read in September 2026, includes 24/7 coverage across after-hours, weekends and holidays, robocall filtering, flexible call forwarding, and hosting of a local or toll-free number. Scheduling and client intake are listed as optional features rather than plan tiers.
Ruby also states, in plain words, that there are no additional or hidden fees for activation, onboarding, setup or customization. In a category where setup fees are common, you can hold Ruby to that sentence.
What you won't find is the rate for a minute past your allowance. It isn't on the pricing page, and Ruby's public help site was returning a 403 error in September 2026, so it can't be read there either. Ask Ruby for it in writing before you pick a bundle, because on a 50-minute plan that rate prices most of a busy month.
What AnswerConnect prints, and what it keeps for the call
AnswerConnect's plans page describes the service and shows no dollar figure. There's no pricing page at its usual address, and you get a plan price by filling in a form and taking a call. That's a fact about how it sells, and it's the first thing to weigh.
Its help centre is far more forthcoming about how a minute is counted. Billed minutes cover the total time to handle a call, including the after-call work a receptionist does to process your message. Queue time before a receptionist picks up isn't billed. Your first 30 calls under 30 seconds in each billing cycle are free, and that allowance covers wrong numbers, hang-ups, spam and no-response calls.
Past 30 seconds, a call bills by the whole minute, rounded up. AnswerConnect's own examples: a call of 1 minute 25 seconds uses 2 minutes, and a call of 3 minutes 50 seconds uses 4. Go over your allowance and the extra minutes bill at your plan's overage rate, with alerts at 80% and 100% of your minutes. Unused minutes don't carry over.
Two more lines from the same help centre. A setup fee exists and is sometimes waived, in which case it still appears on your invoice with a matching credit. And you're billed on your signup date each month for the cycle ahead.
The same month, counted each vendor's way
Take a shop with 120 inbound calls a month. Forty are under 30 seconds: wrong numbers, quick hours checks, hang-ups. The other 80 run about two minutes twenty on average.
On AnswerConnect's published rules, 30 of the short calls are free and 10 count. Each of the 80 longer calls rounds up to 3 minutes, so those alone reach 240 billed minutes before any after-call work is added. That's the arithmetic its help centre lets you do in advance.
On Ruby you can price the bundle but not the overflow. About 190 minutes of talk time sits inside the 200-minute plan at $720, with no room for a busy week. Whether Ruby counts a 20-second wrong number as 20 seconds or as a minute is a question for Ruby, because its page doesn't say.
Run your own numbers the same way. Pull last month's call log, split it at 30 seconds, and put an average length on the rest. Ruby then gives you a firm bundle price and an open overage question; AnswerConnect gives you firm rules and an open price.
Forwarding, numbers, transfers and recording
Both services answer a number you forward to them. Ruby's pricing page lists flexible call forwarding and hosting of a local or toll-free number. AnswerConnect's services page lists automated forwarding on a set schedule, find-me forwarding, manual forwarding and time-based routing. On either, the forwarding mode and the ring delay are set at your carrier or phone system.
AnswerConnect's help centre names four transfer types: cold, warm, hot and live relay. A warm transfer has the receptionist brief you before the caller is put through; a hot transfer keeps the receptionist on the line for the introduction.
AnswerConnect also states that call recording is off by default, can be switched on per number at no extra charge, and that callers are told when a call is recorded. Ruby's pricing page doesn't cover recording, so ask before you sign if you need it.
Where GreetKeeper fits
Disclosure: GreetKeeper is our product, and this is the one place it appears on this page. It answers with an AI rather than a staffed desk, and it changes the meter: you pay per answered call, not per minute.
Every plan and every overage rate is printed. Starter is $49 a month for 200 answered calls and $0.45 a call after that. Professional is $149 for 750 at $0.35. Scale is $349 for 2,000 at $0.25. A caller who explains the whole job costs the same as a caller who asks for your hours, and screened robocalls and very short calls don't count toward the plan.
Appointment booking is included on every tier, written into Google Calendar or Outlook while the caller is still on the line, and the caller gets one text with the booking link or confirmation afterwards. Every call arrives as a transcript and a short summary. When a caller asks for a person, it transfers to your team.
There's no setup fee, every plan includes a dedicated local number in the area code you choose, and each plan starts with a 14-day free trial with every feature on and no card. If the open question on this page is the overage rate or the price, the pricing page answers both.
| Plan | Monthly | Calls included | After that |
|---|---|---|---|
| StarterFor a single location taking calls one line at a time. | $49 | 200 | $0.45 per call |
| ProfessionalBooking, routing and transfers included, not an add-on. | $149 | 750 | $0.35 per call |
| ScaleFor busy phones and longer opening hours. | $349 | 2,000 | $0.25 per call |
Questions people ask about this comparison
Is Ruby or AnswerConnect cheaper?
Only one of them prints a price, so today the comparison is one-sided. Ruby runs from $250 a month for 50 minutes to $1,725 for 500. AnswerConnect gives you a figure by quote form. Ask it for the plan price, the per-minute overage rate and whether the setup fee is waived, then set both against your own minute count.
Does AnswerConnect round calls up to the whole minute?
Yes. Its help centre says a call over 30 seconds bills by the whole minute, rounded up, so 1 minute 25 seconds uses 2 minutes. Billed time also includes the after-call work needed to process your message. The first 30 calls under 30 seconds in each billing cycle are free.
What does Ruby charge for minutes past the plan?
Ruby's pricing page prints the four plan prices and their minutes, and states the only difference between plans is the minute count. It prints no rate for extra minutes, and its help site was returning a 403 error in September 2026. Get the figure from Ruby in writing before you choose a bundle.
Can I forward only after-hours calls to Ruby or AnswerConnect?
Both list it. Ruby's pricing page names flexible call forwarding and 24/7 coverage including after-hours, weekends and holidays. AnswerConnect's services page lists automated forwarding on a set schedule, find-me forwarding and time-based routing. The mode and the ring delay are set at your carrier or phone system, not by the answering service.
Related reading
- All comparisons
- GreetKeeper vs Ruby
- GreetKeeper vs AnswerConnect
- Ruby pricing, explained
- AnswerConnect pricing, explained
- Per-minute vs per-call pricing
- GreetKeeper pricing
- Ruby alternatives
- AnswerConnect alternatives
- AnswerConnect vs PATLive for a small business
- Ruby vs Abby Connect for law firms
- Smith.ai vs AnswerConnect for small law firms
- Smith.ai vs Ruby
- PATLive vs Ruby Receptionists
- Posh vs Ruby virtual receptionists
- Ruby vs Moneypenny
- Ruby vs Nexa
See a price and an overage rate on one page
Every GreetKeeper plan prints both. Hear it answer a call written for your business first.